Foundation

Gastronomic boxes created by Jérôme Ferrer to raise funds for the IRCM

June 5 2020 | Fundraising activity

All news

To support efforts to fund a million-dollar research project on primary immunodeficiency diseases (PID), the IRCM Foundation called on chef Jérôme Ferrer to offer delicious gourmet boxes to Montrealers. For the occasion, the renowned chef has concocted a Surf & Turf menu for two, which will delight epicureans, in addition to helping to fund research to improve the quality of life of people suffering from PID.

Primary immunodeficiencies  are a group of rare and chronic diseases caused by abnormalities in the immune system. The initiator of the project, Sylvain Corbeil, has suffered from a PID since the age of 6. “This hereditary disease had a huge impact on my life. I have been hospitalized over a hundred times and have seen other family members suffer from it. That's why  this cause is particularly close to my heart, "he says. "Fortunately, we were able to count on good care right here in Montreal, at the IRCM. The Institute has a formidable team of researchers and clinicians whose primary goal is to solve health problems, including rare diseases such as PDI. These dedicated professionals are constantly on the lookout for new knowledge that can improve available healthcare. "

The mentioned research project is directed by Dr. Emilia Liana Falcone who wishes to deepen our understanding of hereditary angioedema type 1. This form of PIDmanifests itself by recurrent episodes of swelling of the face and even of the internal organs. When it affects the airways, as in 25% of cases, this disease becomes fatal. Using artificial intelligence, Dr. Falcone hopes to understand the triggers of the disease in order to reduce and control episodes and improve the quality of life of people suffering from it.
The public is invited to participate in this fundraising effort by purchasing a gourmet Surf & Turf box for two, signed by chef Jérôme Ferrer, which includes:

  • Snow crab (260g)
  • Garlic butter (400 g)
  • Red vegetable soup cream with coconut milk and basil (500 ml)
  • Israeli couscous tabbouleh with mint (500 g)
  • Beef rib (portion of 22 oz)
  • Gratin Dauphinois (2 portions)
  • Strawberry and rhubarb tartlets in crumble crust (2 servings)

This inspiring menu comes with a bottle of wine valued at $ 50. This IRCM gourmet box is offered at $ 300 and is available here. Hurry up! Boxes are on sale until June 30th only!
Furthermore, those who wish to make an even greater contribution have the opportunity to personalize their bottle of wine with an additional donation. Here is the list of options offered:

Options

Cost

Number of boxes

Wines

Tax Receipts

Boxe

$ 300

1

1 bottle chosen by the chef

$ 135

California

$1,000

1

1 bottle from California

$ 835

Tuscany

$ 2,500

2

2 bottles from Tuscany

$ 2,170

Bordeaux

$ 5,000

3

3 bottles from Bordeaux

$ 4,505

Burgundy

$ 7,500

4

4 bottles from Burgundy

$ 6,840

Donation

Other donation

0

0

According to donation

 
All of the proceeds will be dedicated to this important research project and tax receipts will be issued by the IRCM Foundation.

On behalf of all people facing PID who will benefit from this research, the IRCM thanks in advance all those who will support this project by acquiring a box. Beyond this great gastronomic experience, your generosity will improve the lives of people, children, adults and families, who suffer daily from this terrible rare disease.

Fondation

Des coffrets gastronomiques signés Jérôme Ferrer pour amasser des fonds pour l’IRCM

5 juin 2020 | Activité-bénéfice

Toutes les nouvelles

Afin de soutenir les efforts de financement d’un projet de recherche d’un million de dollars sur les immunodéficiences primaires (IDP), la Fondation de l’IRCM a fait appel au chef Jérôme Ferrer pour offrir de délicieux coffrets gastronomiques aux Montréalais. Pour l’occasion, le chef renommé a concocté un menu Terre & Mer pour deux, qui saura faire le bonheur des épicuriens, en plus d’aider à financer la recherche pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes souffrant d’IDP.

Les immunodéficiences primaires  sont un groupe de maladies rares et chroniques causées par des anomalies du système immunitaire. L’instigateur du projet, Sylvain Corbeil, est lui-même atteint d’une IDP depuis l’âge de 6 ans. « Cette maladie héréditaire a eu tout un impact sur ma vie. J’ai été hospitalisé plus d’une centaine de fois et j’ai vu d’autres membres de ma famille en souffrir. Voilà pourquoi j’ai cette cause particulièrement à cœur, » confie-t-il. « Heureusement, nous avons pu compter sur de bons soins ici même à Montréal, tout spécialement à l’IRCM. L’Institut comprend une équipe formidable de chercheurs et de cliniciens dont l’aspiration première est de résoudre des problèmes de santé, incluant les maladies rares comme les IDP. Ces professionnels dédiés sont constamment à l’affût de nouvelles connaissances susceptibles d’améliorer les soins disponibles. »

Le projet de recherche en question est dirigé par la Dre Emilia Liana Falcone qui souhaite approfondir la recherche pour mieux comprendre l’angioœdème héréditaire de type 1. Cette IDP se manifeste par des épisodes récurrents de gonflements au niveau du visage et même des organes internes. Lorsqu’elle touche les voies respiratoires, comme dans 25 % des cas, cette maladie devient mortelle. En utilisant l’intelligence artificielle, Dre Falcone espère comprendre les déclencheurs de la maladie afin de réduire et contrôler les poussées et améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes.

Le public est invité à participer à cet effort de financement en se procurant un coffret gastronomique Terre & Mer pour deux, signé du chef Jérôme Ferrer, comprenant :

  • Crabe des neiges (260g)
  • Beurre à l’ail (400 g)
  • Velouté de légumes rouges au lait de coco et basilic (500 ml)
  • Taboulé de couscous israélien à la menthe (500 g)
  • Côte de bœuf (portion de 22 oz)
  • Gratin dauphinois (2 portions)
  • Tartelettes à la fraise et rhubarbe en croûte de crumble (2 portions)

À ce menu inspirant s’ajoute une bouteille de vin d’une valeur de 50 $. Ce coffret gourmet IRCM est offert au prix de 300 $ et est disponible ici. Faites vite! Les coffrets sont en vente jusqu’au 30 juin seulement!

Par ailleurs, ceux qui le désirent pourront personnaliser leur bouteille de vin moyennant un don supplémentaire. Voici la liste de « forfaits » créés pour ceux qui souhaitent en faire davantage.
 

Type de forfait

Coût

Nombre de coffrets

Vins

Valeur du reçu

Coffret

300  $

1

1 bouteille au choix du chef

135  $

Californie

1 000  $

1

1 bouteille de Californie

835  $

Toscane

2 500  $

2

2 bouteilles de Toscane

  2 170  $

Bordeaux

5 000  $

3

3 bouteilles de Bordeaux

4 505  $

Bourgogne

7 500  $

4

4 bouteilles de Bourgogne

6 840  $

Don

Don au choix

0

0

Montant du don

L’ensemble des profits seront dédiés à cet important projet de recherche et des reçus d’impôt seront émis par la Fondation de l’IRCM. Au nom de toutes les personnes atteintes d’IDP qui bénéficieront de ces travaux de recherche, l’IRCM remercie à l’avance tous ceux et celles qui se procureront un coffret.

Au-delà de cette belle expérience gastronomique, votre générosité permettra d’améliorer la vie de personnes, enfants, adultes et familles, qui souffrent quotidiennement de cette terrible maladie rare.