Research

IRCM team unveil groundbreaking work in gene regulation

July 30 2020 | discovery

All news

A team from the Montreal Clinical Research Institute (IRCM) wrote a new chapter in gene regulation by unearthing the function of about 200 proteins that have often flown under the radar of biologists: ribonucleic acid binding proteins (RBPs). The discovery could lead to new therapeutic targets for various diseases in which RBPs are known to be affected, such as different cancers and neurological disorders, including the fragile X syndrome, spinal muscular atrophy, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and frontotemporal dementia.

In the article published in the high impact factor journal Nature, Eric Lécuyer, researcher at the IRCM and a professor at the Faculty of Medicine at Université de Montréal, along with colleagues from four U.S teams, revealed that these RBPs are essential for cells to work properly and have important functions in the regulation of gene expression within different compartments of the cell.

“We noticed that RBPs are almost always located in a specific cellular subcompartment, which suggests that they play an active role in RNA regulation”, said Eric Lécuyer, “Some could, for example, have the function of transporting RNAs to specific locations in the cell. Others may react quickly to external stress, changing the RNA distribution in the cell and modifying the gene expression profile”. It is as if the RBPs act as the “cell’s FedEx system” he added, for simplicity. “Each RNA is routed to a different place in the cell because of an element, like a type of bar code included within its sequence, which could possibly be recognized by one or more RBPs.” Therefore, any dysfunction in the RBPs actions could lead to a wide range of diseases such as cancer, neurological and muscular disorders.

There could be between 1,500 to 2,000 different RBPs in humans. Understanding the functions of on a large scale has been a missing link until this recent paper. “The study of RNA regulation by RBPs has been totally overshadowed by the study of DNA regulation,” added Lécuyer.  According to him, many of these proteins have been deeply preserved throughout evolution, from bacteria to humans: “This observation alone suggests that they are essential for cells to function properly.”

A concerted public data effort

To verify these facts, Eric Lécuyer and his colleagues characterized 200 RBPs as part of the ENCODE Project, a U.S. government initiative that follows the Human Genome Sequencing Project. The aim is to characterize each of the human genome’s functional elements, making this information available to the entire scientific community.
Each of the five groups participating in the project relied on a different approach to accumulate data on RBPs. The first laboratory determined the association between each RNA sequence and RBP in each cell. Another repeated the in vitro experiment, outside a cellular environment. The third group systematically blocked the production of each RBP in cultured cells and measured the impact of their absence on RNA expression. The fourth group investigated the impact of the DNA association of certain RBPs. Members of the Lécuyer team focused on the intracellular localization of RBPs.

In a five-year painstaking task, the team targeted each of the 200 RBPs with an antibody of its own to reveal the location of each protein in the cell. The group used cell fractionation to confirm information from the fluorescent assay.

In the future, they plan to continue this investigation by characterizing the location of a  new collection of RBPs. “We have already done the work for another group of 250 proteins, and we now have antibodies that target a total of several hundred more,” he said.
 
About the study

The study is the result of a collaborative effort by a team from the IRCM and three U.S. universities. Xiaofeng Wang, Neal Cody, Louis Philip Benoit Bouvrette, Julie Bergalet and Eric Lécuyer, all from the IRCM’s RNA Biology Research Unit, were involved in the research. This study has more than 30 other authors from the University of California at San Diego, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and UConn Health’s Institute for Systems Genomics.

The research has received financial support from the National Human Genome Research Institute, Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS), Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation and National Institutes of Health.

Read full article published in Nature
 

 

Source

Éric Lécuyer
Research Unit Director

Recherche

Découverte révolutionnaire d’une équipe de l’IRCM sur la régulation des gènes

30 jui. 2020 | découverte

Toutes les nouvelles

Une équipe de l’Institut de recherche clinique de Montréal (IRCM) a récemment écrit un nouveau chapitre sur la régulation des gènes en faisant lumière sur la fonction de près de 200 protéines qui, à ce jour, avaient échappé au radar des biologistes: les protéines régulatrices d’acide ribonucléique (ARN). La découverte pourrait conduire à de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques pour diverses maladies neuromusculaires impliquant des expressions géniques telles que le syndrome du X fragile, l’atrophie musculaire spinale, la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA), la démence frontotemporale et différentes formes d’ataxie.

Dans l’article publié dans la prestigieuse revue Nature, Éric Lécuyer, chercheur à l’IRCM et professeur à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Montréal, en collaboration avec des collègues de quatre équipes américaines, a révélé que ces protéines d’ARN sont essentielles pour le bon fonctionnement des cellules. Les protéines de liaison à l’ARN, dites RBP, jouent un rôle important dans la régulation de l’expression des gènes.

« Nous avons démontré que les RBP sont presque toujours situés dans un sous-compartiment cellulaire, ce qui suggère qu’ils jouent un rôle actif dans la régulation des ARN», a déclaré Éric Lécuyer, «Certains pourraient, par exemple, avoir pour fonction de transporter des ARN vers des emplacements spécifiques de la cellule. D’autres peuvent réagir rapidement au stress externe, modifiant la distribution d’ARN dans la cellule et modifiant le profil d’expression génique. » C’est comme si l’ARN agissait comme le « service Fedex de la cellule » explique-t-il. “Chaque ARN est acheminé vers un endroit différent dans la cellule en raison d’un élément, un type de code à barres inclus dans sa séquence - un code à barres éventuellement reconnu par un ou plusieurs RBP.” Par conséquent, tout dysfonctionnement des RBP pourrait conduire à un large éventail de maladies telles que le cancer, les troubles neurologiques et musculaires.

On estime qu’il y a entre 1 500 et 2 000 RBP différents chez l’homme. Jusqu’à la présente étude, la fonction des RBP était peu connue. « L’étude de la régulation de l’ARN par les RBP a été totalement éclipsée par la régulation de l’ADN», a ajouté Lécuyer. Selon lui, ces protéines ont été préservées tout au long de l’évolution, des bactéries aux humains: « Cette seule observation suggère qu’elles sont essentielles au bon fonctionnement des cellules. »
 
Un effort concerté de données publiques

Pour vérifier ces constatations, Eric Lécuyer et ses collègues ont caractérisé 200 RBP dans le cadre du projet ENCODE, une initiative du gouvernement américain qui fait suite au projet de séquençage du génome humain. L’objectif est de caractériser chacun des éléments fonctionnels du génome humain, en mettant ces informations à disposition de l’ensemble de la communauté scientifique.

Chacun des cinq groupes participant au projet a utilisé une approche différente pour accumuler des données sur les RBP. Le premier laboratoire a déterminé l’association entre chaque séquence d’ARN et RBP, et ce dans chaque cellule. Un autre a répété l’expérience in vitro, en dehors d’un environnement cellulaire. Le troisième groupe a systématiquement bloqué la production de chaque RBP dans les cellules en culture et mesuré l’impact de leur absence sur l’expression de l’ARN. Le quatrième groupe a étudié l’impact de l’association ADN de certains RBP. L’équipe d’Éric Lécuyer s’est concentrée sur la localisation intracellulaire des RBP.
À travers un processus minutieux qui a duré de cinq ans, Éric Lécuyer et son équipe ont ciblé chacun des 200 RBP avec un anticorps qui leur est propre pour révéler l’emplacement de chaque protéine dans la cellule. Le groupe a utilisé le fractionnement cellulaire pour confirmer les informations du test fluorescent.
Pour la suite, Éric Lécuyer prévoit approfondir ces travaux en caractérisant l’emplacement d’un nouveau lot de RBP. “Nous avons déjà fait le travail pour un autre groupe de 250 protéines, et nous avons maintenant des anticorps qui ciblent un total de 800 RBP”, a-t-il déclaré.
 
À propos de l’étude

L’étude résulte d’une collaboration d’une équipe de l’IRCM et de quatre universités américaines. Xiaofeng Wang, Louis Philip Benoit Bouvrette, Julie Bergalet et Éric Lécuyer, tous de l’Unité de recherche en biologie de l’ARN de l’IRCM, ont participé aux travaux de recherche. Cette étude compte plus de 30 autres auteurs de l’Université de Californie à San Diego, du Massachusetts Institute of Technology et de l’Institute for Systems Genomics d’UConn Health.

Ces travaux de recherche ont reçu le soutien financier du National Human Genome Research Institute, du Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé (FRQS), du Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation et du National Institutes of Health.
 
Voir l’article complet publié dans Nature
 

Source

Éric Lécuyer
Directeur d'unité de recherche
Téléphone :
514 987-5646