Research

The ethics of a pandemic

June 11 2020 | Ethics

All news

Since its onset, the COVID-19 pandemic has sparked a series of ethical questions about our healthcare system and society. Questions such as how do we protect our healthcare workers and how do we handle their moral distress? How do we provide essential care to non-COVID-19 patients? Even issues such as rationing and the allocation of scarce critical care resources have been raised.

Eric Racine, Principal Investigator at the IRCM and member of a task force of the Association of Bioethics Program Directors, is among those who are asking these tough questions and reviewing the various challenges healthcare systems are facing to look for ways to establish guidelines and help those on the frontlines. They have recently published their paper Ethical Challenges Arising in the COVID-19 Pandemic in the American Journal of Bioethics.

“When healthcare systems are overwhelmed and pushed to their limits during a situation like this pandemic, healthcare professionals are confronted on a daily basis to substantial ethical challenges. They try to do their best but compromises are oftentimes inevitable given that the circumstances are far from being ideal”, Eric Racine explains. Key among those challenges is the possible rationing of critical care resources. “Ethical guidance on allocating scarce resources is generally based on determining which patient is most likely to benefit. But there is ongoing debate over what the appropriate definition of benefit should be. So how do we prioritize? What constitutes fair treatment? And how do we approach this from a legal perspective? ”

Such ethical debates are not new. Discussions about the criteria that should guide the allocation of scarce critical care resources during pandemics have been ongoing among ethicists, healthcare institutions, and public health agencies for a number of years. But each pandemic comes with its own set of unique intricacies and challenges.

“The situation is constantly evolving. Experience, changing circumstances, patterns of illness, and other factors will continue to shape ethical policy and may force us to re-evaluate some of the principles and assumptions that currently inform decisions,” Eric Racine adds.

While the current pandemic presents enormous ethical challenges, there are also opportunities to help guide and develop newer, more informed policies and criteria for decision-making. “The medical community as a whole must learn the lessons from the COVID-19 situation and rapidly put them into practice, so that we can be better prepared for any future pandemic,” concludes Racine.

Source

Eric Racine
Research Unit Director

Recherche

L’éthique en temps de pandémie

11 juin 2020 | Éthique

Toutes les nouvelles

Avec l’apparition de la pandémie de COVID-19, une série de questions éthiques sur notre système de santé et notre société ont refaits surface. Des questions telles que comment protéger les travailleurs de la santé et comment gérer leur détresse morale? Comment continuer de fournir des soins essentiels aux personnes qui ne sont pas atteintes de la Covid-19? À cela viennent s’ajouter des questions entourant le rationnement et l’allocation de ressources limitées.

Eric Racine, chercheur principal à l’IRCM et membre d’un groupe de travail de l’Association of Bioethics Program Directors, est parmi ceux qui posent ces questions difficiles et examinent les défis auxquels les systèmes de santé sont confrontés afin de contribuer à établir des lignes directrices pour encadrer ceux en première ligne. Ils ont récemment publié un article Ethical Challenges Arising in the COVID-19 Pandemic dans le American Journal of Bioethics.

« Lorsque les systèmes de santé sont débordés jusqu’à atteindre leurs limites dans un contexte similaire à cette pandémie, les professionnels de santé sont confrontés au quotidien à de grands défis éthiques. Même s’ils font de leur mieux, les compromis sont souvent inévitables, considérant les circonstances difficiles », explique Eric Racine. L’un des principaux défis à relever est le rationnement des ressources nécessaires à la dispensation des soins intensifs. « Les directives éthiques sur l’allocation des ressources rares se fondent généralement sur la capacité à déterminer quel patient en a le plus besoin. Mais il y a un débat sur la définition appropriée du besoin. Alors, comment prioriser? À quel moment un traitement est-il jugé équitable? Et comment aborder le tout d’un point de vue juridique? »

Ces enjeux d’ordre éthiques ne sont pas nouveaux. Les discussions sur les critères qui devraient guider l’allocation des  ressources rares nécessaires aux soins intensifs en périodes de pandémie perdurent depuis de nombreuses années parmi les éthiciens, les établissements de santé et les agences de santé publique. Toutefois, chaque pandémie ajoute son lot de subtilités et de défis propres.

« La situation évolue constamment. L’expérience, les circonstances changeantes et les schémas de maladie, entre autres, continueront de façonner la politique éthique, nous obligeant à réévaluer les principes et les hypothèses qui sous-tendent les décisions du moment », ajoute Eric Racine.

Bien que la pandémie actuelle s’accompagne d’énormes défis éthiques, elle offre également une occasion de développer des politiques et des critères de prise de décision plus récents et mieux éclairés. « La communauté médicale dans son ensemble doit tirer des leçons de l’expérience de la COVID-19 et les mettre rapidement en pratique, afin que nous puissions être mieux préparés à toute pandémie future », conclut Racine.

Source

Eric Racine
Directeur d'unité de recherche
Téléphone :
514 987-5723